SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
barbaspal

Convex oven: Bosch side-swing, Electrolux, Thermador, Miele?

kitchengirl
8 years ago

I expect to order appliances in December (new home underway), as my appliance salesperson suggested I wait to make sure I do not overlook possible Fall releases. That said, I am thinking of going with a Miele steam-combi oven under a 36" induction cooktop (maybe the Wolf with 4 flex linked burners) and a Miele, Bosch Benchmark side-swing, Thermador or Electrolux 30" convection oven placed on the other side of a prep island w/ the bottom at waist height (I am 5'1"). I was thinking to use the Miele steam-combi for everyday, and the 30" for baking or when I'm cooking for more than us two.

I am a very good cook, very knowledgeable about technique and food, but I cook pretty simply for everyday (roasted, sautéed and boiled vegetables (for Italian salads -- might switch to steaming for increased nutrients!), lots of pasta for an Italian DH, simply prepared roasts, lots of salads). I enjoy baking, so having an oven that does not require pan rotation or switching top and bottom racks midway is a priority (if possible). When we have dinner parties, I do cook a leisurely sit-down meal with four courses in the Italian fashion.

My research to date has been reading/asking questions a lot here in the Appliances section and going to the major appliance store an hour from where I live to look and touch the models. I have visited appliance stores and had long talks with earnest salespeople in Berkeley and Pasadena, CA, but they weren't 'live'. That would require a half day drive or an overnight trip to Chicago.