SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
arlinek

Induction Cooktop: Installed 30" Frigidaire PROFESSIONAL FPIC3095MS

arlinek
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I thought I would write a little (well, not so little) about MY experience & costs since so few remarks or comments have been found here about this brand and model. I've had it for about 10 days now. Had to convert to 220 V., of course - that was about $650 cost with my DH helping the electrician feed wires to the panel, through our wall and ceiling from the kitchen, through the garage ceiling and down to the panel outside - about 45 feet (Calif. charges - but really had to negotiate! - got estimates from $1200 to $800). I had a gas cooktop prior.

I am an avid and serious cook and research to death anything I'm considering. I was wavering bet. the 30" Bosch and this 30" Frigidaire. Was even debating about finding a hybrid - half gas/half induction, even importing one from Europe. But, members here convinced me to take the plunge ... and I am DELIGHTED!! In addition, I did find here one other buyer who was kind enough to allow me to call her about her usage and she was wonderful in answering all my questions! Yes, had to give away about 20 pots and pans but was able to keep a few. The first week was a real learning curve for me (less so now, but still have room to learn more). Every water item I boiled from full tea kettle to 3/4 full pot managed to boil over vociferously and so quickly, I learned to NOT EVER make a run to the ladies room!!! Twice the top shut off when the water spilled all over the controls area - apparently it's quite sensitive (are they all like that?) - the book DOES warn about it. It shouldn't happen again. And it even went into control lock, but not sure if *I* caused that or the spilled water did. Took a few min. before it would release but I think it was due to opr. error.