SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tcchaconas

Need help for our kitchen design -- complete newbies

tcchaconas
9 years ago

We are planning a kitchen design and only recently became avid readers of this site. We are hoping to draw upon the amazing collective knowledge, experience and wisdom of all you to help us with our current kitchen design.

First a little about us and our house. We are a married couple in our mid 50's with two kids now in college. We enjoy cooking together and have delayed remodeling our kitchen far too long. The house itself is a bit unusual with mostly octagonal spaces and very few right angle walls. The current kitchen is what was originally built with the house in 1985, save for a few appliance replacements. Cabinets and counter tops are literally falling apart. As part of the kitchen remodel we are also planning to make some changes to the adjacent laundry room. Here is the existing design:

There are a number of issues that we are trying to address with our redesign. First, we want a more spacious kitchen with a more efficient design, increased usable counter space and increased storage. Although we do not entertain that often, we want a more open design, with the kitchen space flowing into the dining room area and a large island for friends and kids to perch on. For this reason, we are planning to remove the current wall that separates the dining room area from the kitchen as well as the wall that separates the triangular shaped "dining nook" area (not labeled) from the kitchen and dining room. We also dislike having an entrance from the garage directly into the kitchen and the current laundry room is small and cramped. There is also a never used stand-alone shower room adjacent to the laundry room that we want to remove.

Here is the most current version of our redesign: