SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bwilliams5980

OT: Unusual names - not necessarily Literary Names.

bwilliams5980
16 years ago

phaedosia's thread from last year got me thinking about names - and from the responses to it, I think many of us have some ideas on names.

Do you prefer unusual or traditional? Quirky or classic?

As a teacher, I have to say I see quite a few names that make me think "What were the parents thinking?!" And I see trends in names. This year I have 4 Coles and 6 Ashleys (all different spellings, though - more on that later) on the team. Lots of Anthonys and Callies too.

I try to memorize all 150 students' names by the second day of school and I tell the kids that it is important for them to correct me if I mispronounce their name. I think names are important and I know it makes the students feel good that I take the time to learn their names and get them right. I know teachers who never learn all the names by the end of the year and I think that is sad and so uncaring - they only learn the names of the very good students or the very bad ones - lol. By the same token, I told a student who didn't know my name this week that I had to learn 150 and he had to learn 6 teachers' names and he better get with it. lol.

The Ashleys this year are: Ashley, Ashly(3 with this spelling), Ashlee, and Ashleigh.

Have one Anthony spelled Aanthene. My favorite for the year is Yohinace (pronounced yo' highness).

I wonder if parents realize what they are setting their kids up for when they do this?

Any thoughts or am I the only name obsessed person on here? lol

Comments (70)

• netla
    16 years ago