SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bigbaby_gw

Anyone with Food Restrictions?

bigbaby
15 years ago

My naturpathic doctor suggested that I restrict my diet to exclude gluten, dairy, sugar, corn, preservatives, additives and food coloring. I stuck with it for several months and felt really great. Lots of energy, etc. The problem is that for the last couple of months I have hit the skids! I got so tired of my own cooking. Then, I had foot surgery and have completely gotten off the wagon by indulging comfort foods! I'm a hospice social worker and my office is pretty much in my car. I usually eat in my car between patients so I have no microwave and sandwiches are out! I've resorted to having lunch in restaurants now and my diet is really taking a hit! It's almost impossible to eat out it seems.

Do any of you have experience with food restrictions? How do you handle it when you get tired of it?

Comments (16)

• alisande
    15 years ago

For me, the motivation to stick with it was the knowledge that certain foods actually damage my health. I eventually came to think of these things as toxic to me, and thus developed an aversion to them. At this point, processed foods do not appeal to me at all, and I'm so used to avoiding sugar that it's second nature. At the dinner party I attended last night, I was the only one who didn't eat dessert (cherry pie). I love cherry pie. But I know if I eat it my blood sugar will spike (and then crash), my triglyceride levels will rise, and--probably worst of all--I'll trigger the cravings it took me so long to get rid of.

In recent months I've had to stop eating yogurt, my #1 favorite breakfast for a few years. I was eating plain, nonfat yogurt, but for some unknown reason it bothers my gut. So no more yogurt. Also no more chocolate or popcorn, for the same reason. I miss the yogurt every morning, but it's the knowledge of the consequences that keeps me away from it.