SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mommy2nk

So many questions for my Kitchen Renovation

mommy2nk
12 years ago

Hello,

I am a newbie to posting but I have looked a this sight so often, I just love it!

We will be moving into our new house the first of the month and plan on doing a kitchen and flooring renovation first thing. We have our flooring selected already, it is the Mohawk Chocolate Maple in the Santa Barbara/Brindisi plank. The cabinets will be painted a creamy white and hardware added. We will be ripping up the current center island and having a new one built that will have a table attached to seat 5. The countertops will be granite. I am also wanting to add a farmhouse sink, double oven, and then a cooktop. I have had much inspiration from this site and just googling White Kitchen's..

I have been to a few slab yards and I am so confused on which direction to go with regards to the countertops. First, I think I want dark counters but then I see light counter's and I want light counter's. When I first started looking I figured polished but then I realized there were other options as in Honed, Leathered, Satin. I really liked the look of Honed but I am not sure if it should be an option for my young family. I have seen the leather/satin finish and the texture is throwing me off, but I have seen such beautiful kitchens that have used it. It makes me think I should consider it. I have been told that polished is not very forgiving when showing prints and such.

As I stated we are a young family 3 & 5 year olds plus a teenager, we will not baby the counters. It will be the most used area of the house. We are doing this on a budget as well..

So my question are basically: