SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mayor598

Layout help needed for small kitchen remodel

mayor598
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm a newbie emerging from lurker status now that we're planning a spring 2012 kitchen renovation. I won't know my final budget until January so I'm planning a low and mid-range budget to be safe. We live in a 1980's split-level open concept bungalow with cathedral ceilings and its original kitchen: white melamine cupboards, white melamine counters, white globe lighting fixtures, white ceiling fan.... The living room and kitchen/dining area are open concept with the living room on the entry level and the kitchen/dining area and bedrooms on the upper level. There is a shared wall between the kitchen and the living room. That wall measures 38" high when measured from the floor of the dining area and the ceiling directly above it is 14' high. The highest point of the cathedral ceilings is where the living room and dining area are adjacent. The lowest point of the ceiling starts on the wall with the slider doors with an 8' ceiling and the ceiling rises to 14' above the dining area. From the dining table you have a full view of the kitchen and back patio and a partial to full view of the living room depending on whether you're sitting or standing. The kitchen itself is 10' wide x 8' long galley style kitchen in a larger shared area with the dining room.

My motto for the remodel is function over form. Since I don't have a lot of space to work with I'm trying to focus on making my kitchen more efficient and leaving out the bells and whistles. Plus, DH doesn't want this renovation to cost a lot so he's set some ground rules:

1. Cannot move the plumbing. I think the right design would make him reconsider.

2. Cannot change dishwasher or refrigerator (bought fridge 2 years ago so I agree)

3. Cannot move any walls or windows or put up any walls.

As I see it, there are 4 must-haves for this remodel:

1. Hood ventilation to the outside

2. More counter space