SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hellonasty

Who planned your kitchen?

hellonasty
13 years ago

I'm relatively new here so I hope this hasn't already been a thread. Here goes.

Who planned your kitchen?

In my case, we went to a reputable Kitchen Design company and one of their excellent designers did the plan for the cabs that they sell. Together with my husband the 3 of us tweaked the plans til we were happy. The order for the cabs went in today. Will be delivered in about 6 weeks.

The rest of the stuff... the appliances, floor and backsplash, sink and faucet, etc... I planned entirely and ran everything by my husband til we agreed upon what is best. Now I'm trying to get everything ordered.

It is very stressful to do all the planning but maybe less stressful that both the husband and wife picking things out and having to decide! I've been researching for the past, oh, 10 years for this reno so I'm pretty psyched!

What about you? How did you plan your kitchen renovation?

Comments (20)

• focylrac
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My planning history is fairly similar to yours with the exception that my husband was not actively involved...he just can't visualize a concept and deferred to my decisions. I used a KD who represented the cabinets I ultimately purchased. I discovered many tips here at GW that I requested she implement into the design. I had many meetings w/ her and quite honestly that part of the process took much longer than I ever imagined. I am ALMOST finished w/ the process and yes, there were plenty of stressful times along the way but now they are distancing themselves from my memory. I had only dreamed of my 'new' kitchen for years w/ absolutely no idea that this forum existed. For anyone who wants to be actively involved in the planning this site is a treasure trove!

• Buehl
    13 years ago