SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
steplara

not a child/not an adult

steplara
16 years ago

My BF and I just bought a house together and his 18 year old daughter lives with us. She's at college, but comes home every weekend. She wants to be an adult, but she is homesick and talks to her father multiple times a day. When she is home, she is constantly hugging him and calls him "daddy" and acts a lot younger than how I remember acting when I was a freshman in college. But everyone is different and I try to keep that in mind.

Her BM is a nice lady, but is a drunk and has been verbally abusive towards my "step-daughter." However, she is her "mommy" and "SD" loves her and still stays at her house once in a while when she is home.

"SD" goes almost everywhere with my BF and me. We go away for the weekend and she is with us. We go to parties and she is with us. If we don't invite her, she gets mad.

A few times she has said "Why does Lara get one and I don't?" As if I am a step-sister or something.

So, I deal with these things because I love her dad, and I really love her, too. I don't have any kids of my own- by choice- so getting a teenager (I've been with her dad for a year now) right off the bat has been a huge learning experience for me. She's a really good kid- good grades, doesn't smoke or drink. A parent's dream. But...

She is also disrespectful. She calls her dad an "ass," her uncle "gay," me "gay" regularly.