SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
happyintexas

What does your quilting space look like?

happyintexas
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm just beginning to dabble my tootsies into quilting again. Several years ago, I did a few small projects, but a new baby and a business and such kept me busy. Well, the baby is now 17 (!!!!!) and the business is long gone. Time to quilt again.

I have an upstairs 'game' room that is long and narrow, but filled with clutter. While one end will be a work-out area, I want to set up the other end as a quilting area. I'll be cleaning out and setting up in the next few days.

My question to you is what do your quilting/sewing areas look like? What do you consider essential to the area?

Any thoughts are welcome!

Comments (29)

• juttz
    16 years ago

Well my area is so small that you literlly walk and sit..the table and wall iron are the only space I have...its about 7 x 5 feet..no kidding here...I have some bins next to the table..a serger under the table and the ironing board is in the wall...I took the end space of my utility room which is the only area I can work...oh and the kitchen table is my cutting area...

I would try and get everything pretty close to you so you arent up and down all the time..good luck and let us know what you do...Judy

• fran1523
    16 years ago

Some people make do with a corner of a bedroom or the kitchen table while others have rooms dedicated to sewing. I guess the most desirable requirements are good light, enough outlets for the sewing machine and iron, a large work surface for cutting, ample storage, and of course, a place where the sewing machine can be left set up. Other than that, one works with what one has.

• Related Discussions

What does the back of your roman or wood shade look like

Q

Comments (8)