SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mwrede

Newbie needs help narrowing down options

mwrede
15 years ago

Hi, I am new to the pool forum. I have been reading the posts for a few weeks and are feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the choices. I have tried to talk to a few PBs but I am getting the sense that everyone is telling me what they type of pool they built/ product they sell is better or are trying to upsell me and I am in need of some more unbiased opinions.

I was hoping to get some suggestions based on our circumstances to narrow down my search.

I have never owned a pool before but my husband had a vinyl lined pool growing up in Northern NJ. We moved to NC (Durham area) 8 months ago. We are in our early thirties no kids but plan to start a family very soon. We are probably going to be in this house 3-7 years depending on where circumstances take us.

Our preferences:

My husband feels very strongly on having a deep end on the pool he insists on 8 feet. I have heard that we might be able to get away with 7 if he does not plan on diving head first (heÂs 6 4"). (HeÂs agreed to do away with the diving board  as I feel like anything plastic like that cheapens the look of the pool).

At the same time I, being 5 5" would like to have as big of an area below 4 - 4.5 feet to hang out where I donÂt have to swim at all times  plus a pool with a steep incline is sort of uncomfortable to walk in. (I know there is some kind of formula that allows you to figure out the angle of the incline.)

I would also like to have some really shallow area i.e. oversized step/baja shelf with letÂs say up to a foot of water so that our kids when they are young can play in - also our dog is little (miniature eskie) and enjoys wading but not swimming, plus I probably will like sitting/laying there myself. Not sure whatÂs most cost effective in terms of size, placement etc.