SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
runninginplace

Pipes *in* the Cabinet?! (Long w/pics)

runninginplace
15 years ago

I will probably also post this in the plumbing forum but hoping maybe someone here can answer a question for me.

My kitchen dates from 1950. The plumbing has been somewhat updated but some is still original, including the waste pipe that leads from beneath the sink. Forgive me if my terminology isn't quite right here, I'm no plumbing expert. But,the waste pipe runs THROUGH the base cabinets then into a drain pipe in the wall, which is where the stack is also located. This means that on that side of the kitchen, for the run from my sink to the wall at about 2' above the floor level, through the middle of the base cabinets there is a pipe. The original carpenters simply cut holes in the side of the sink base(!) and then the pipe runs under a shelf inside the cabinets to the point at which it enters the wall(!!).

I can't imagine that everyone who redoes a kitchen of this vintage simply hacks up their brand new cabinets and lives with pipes running through the middle of them. This also means of course if that is done, on that run there can be no drawers. No dishwasher. No pullout trash, etc etc.

Yesterday my husband insisted that the only 'right' way to change this is to open up the wall to move the stack which would also entail cutting a new hole in the roof, and also to dig up the floor under our dining room as well as under both our bathrooms and move and replace all the drain pipes.

Now, my husband knows his vintage 1950 construction, having been brought up by a Miami builder. However he is also very good at dodging work by insisting that it is basically impossible to do something he doesn't want to do because the right way is simply too difficult :).