SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zacsdaddy

This is hard work ...

ZacsDaddy
13 years ago

Ok, I'm beginning to think it may have been easier to buy a house with the kitchen already done! Ok, not really ... but I will say the dream of doing a complete kitchen remodel is much easier than the actual process. I've done minor remodels before (refacing cabinets, new floors, etc.) but this is my first time doing a complete gut and rebuild.

We were supposed to start the demo in January, but luckily got bumped to March by our GC. However now with approved plans in hand, cabinets complete and in the warehouse, and tile on order, I'm exhausted before we even begin.

Anyway, to get myself re-energized, I thought I'd share out our plans for any last minute comments.

The cabinets: Aristocratic Cabinets - custom modified shaker style in natural Walnut with a clear coat (they are already complete and I love them!)

Countertop: Buttermilk Caesarstone

Floor: Basalt Graphite porcelain tile (grey with hints of brown)

Backsplash: Grazia Listelli in Laguna (2.5" X 10" subway) with 1/2" black liner

Accent Lighting - Schoolhouse Electric

The concept is to give the feel of a 1936 California Bungalow (with a Spanish Revival influence) with a touch of modern thrown in. My last kitchen was a MCM and I loved the clean lines. I also fell in love with the warmth of natural wood cabinetry. This kitchen gets a lot of natural light as it wraps around an inner patio and has a large skylight -- this gave me the courage to go with a slightly darker palette.

Anyway -- what do you think? Are we one the right track? I haven't seen many kitchens like this online and hope we're not going to scare people! We're planning on living here for a long time ...

Here is a link that might be useful: Link to Kitchen Before and Design

Comments (22)

• jtkaybean
    13 years ago

Are you in SF? I LOVE your house, truly is beautiful! The walnut cabs will look gorgeous!