SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ntt_hou

Jessyf's request for VNmese Pho (Noodle soup)

ntt_hou
15 years ago

Hi Jessyf! Actually, I've been around for awhile on and off.

Some about me. I love to cook and do not just stick with VNmese food. I'm quite international when it comes to food. I have some Italian background and cook alot of pasta as well. Funny how it is, I tend to collect cookbooks more than I cook. One thing with my cooking, I rarely follow a recipe. I cook better this way. I normally know which ingredients work well together and which don't.

Pho is one of the few VNmese dish that is done with beef and not with pork. The key to this noodle soup is the stock and like hamburger, everyone makes it slightly different.

The women in my family claims that theirs are better. So, I usually make if just for myself. This is not the traditionally way but for 1 or 2 servings, it works best and less preparation time. Yet, it's still tasty.

Ingredients for the stock:

1 box of Beef Stock (store bought)

2 patties of ground beef/chuck (hamburger size). Get the ground beef as lean as you can.

1/2 onion, sliced

1-2 tspn Chinese 5-spice, (start w/1 tspn, then add gradually to your taste).

2 tspn Ginger, finely chopped

Salt & Pepper to your taste. (If you can handle fish sauce, don't add too much salt. Later, add the fish sauce to taste instead.

Flat Rice Noodles (pho noodles), boiled to al dente, drain in a coliander and let it run through gold water to stop it from cooking. Note: Keep on the watch when boiling the rice noodles. It cooks very quickly. Set it on the side.

Lean Beef, very thinly sliced. You can use filet mignon or any type of lean beef. Here's a tip, if the meat is half frozen, it is easier to slice it very thinly.

Chooped Green onion and cilantro for garnish.