SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_10471126

Is a card enough or do I go to the funeral?

User
13 years ago

I got word Friday that a guy I graduated with was killed in a motorcycle accident on Thursday. This is the first person from my class that isn't with us anymore and we're all way too young to die. His wife of three years also graduated in the same class. I've been thinking of her and the family a lot since I heard.

I wasn't close to either of them. Had some classes with her so there were times we chatted more. Didn't get together outside of school though.

My first thoughts was to send a card to his wife and after I called my BFF Friday with the news she also said about sending a card. That's not weird right? If I were her I'd appreciate the card.

I wasn't planning on going to the funeral but now I'm thinking maybe I should. It's tomorrow night. They're not having a viewing but they are "receiving friends" for a few hours before the service. I really don't want to go. I'm very sensitive so I'll be a crying mess. Nobody likes to do the ugly cry in front of people. I guess I feel like it's weird because it's not like we were close friends. I'm probably way over thinking this and I know people won't be paying attention to my sobbing. I just know how overly sensitive I am and I don't like to cry in front of people. The funeral isn't far away but I'm going to see gobs of people I know there. Either way, I don't want to go but feel like I should. Is sending a nice card to his wife enough?

I've only ever been to two funerals. One was my BFF Granfather and the other was DH's Grandfather this past year. I haven't had to deal with death yet for someone really close to me. I can't imagine how his wife and family feel right now.

Comments (21)

• Sueb20
    13 years ago