SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dlmill_gw

flower garden in a shady spot

dlmill
17 years ago

Hi all,

My husband and I bought our first home last year and the yard is in need of color and interest. I am thinking about adding flowers in two areas.

The first is would be a bed about 15 feet long and a foot or foot and a half wide. It would along a retaining wall/deck and would get full sun in the afternoons and evenings.

The second would be a flower garden area on one side of the house. It's the only good area for a nicely sized flower garden because we have trees lining the back of the yard. However, it is pretty shady, getting only late afternoon and evening sun. I'd like a variety of flowers, perhaps bushes, maybe even a small tree. I have thought about rose bushes but am unsure, having never grown them before.

If anyone could suggest types of flowers or online stores for me, I would greatly appreciate it. I am a newbie, so they would have to be fairly easy to grow. Our soil is fairly sandy, but we have added a layer of topsoil and I could always amend the soil further. Our summers can be hot and we are in a drought, so if there are flowers that require less water, that would be great.

Didn't mean to write so much, but your adivse would be much appreciated!

Comments (13)

• digit
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It looks like a difficult set of circumstances, Dlmill -

one very narrow bed
    trees, and therefore, dry shade
    sandy soil
    hot afternoon sun

1 Are you thinking solely of perennial plants?
    2 How many hours of afternoon sunlight?
    3 How close and big are those trees?

It may be a "prefers full sun but tolerates some shade" situation. Amending your soil and using mulch would a very good idea since water retention will be a real issue with tree roots.