SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
okiedawn1

OT: Why Did The Cougars Cross The Road?

Okiedawn OK Zone 7
14 years ago

The answer to the question in the title....of course, would be, to get to the other side. (sigh)

About 2:40 p.m. I received a phone call alerting me that two cougars were seen crossing our road approximately 3/4 mile north of our house. They were headed from the west (the Red River bottomland area) and were crossing our road and going onto a ranch, headed east (towards I-35). This occurred a few minutes before I received the phone call.

They were seen by one of our neighbors who, like me, is not a kook. He's a normal, middle-aged man with a family and pets and he is a law enforcement officer by profession. He's a "country boy" who knows a cougar or a coyote or a bobcat when he sees one. In other words, he is credible.

Two things really bother me:

a) The were outside in broad daylight at roughly 2:30 p.m. on a warm, sunny day.

b) They were traveling together. I find this odd, but I am not a cougar expert. I thought they tended to travel alone, except for a mother with cubs.

There are other things that bother me....but in a personal way....like.....when will it be safe to let the kitty cats go back outside? Today? No. Tomorrow? Maybe. Ever? I don't know. Can I go out to the garden and feel safe, even with a gun? I doubt it. What now? I don't know.

There are some other things I am feeling and thinking. Here's a sample:

PANIC: Two together in broad daylight on a road that has a moderate amount of traffic all day long. If they came from the river, they had to cross 1 or 2 ranches to reach the road. People live on those ranches. In fact, they are retired people and they are usually home, so the cats don't seem to be afraid to be seen in broad daylight by the humans who live on those places.

Could I protect myself from two? I can see myself shooting one. Could I manage to shoot two if I had to and could I do it quickly enough? I have no idea.