SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
everett_reader

Design Ideas - mixed hedge

everett-reader
17 years ago

First off, I want to say i am much more comfortable planting perennials as I have some experience with it, and if they don't work out, the investment is modest.

I am re-doing the backyard which requires building "bones" and I am losing my nerve on how to do this. I have a focal point tree worked out and a broad concept, but the execution is worrying me.

The setting is like this - the very back of the yard is open (no fence) to a large native growth greenbelt that has very high limbed hemlock and an understory of salal, a few vine maples, sword ferns and other misc native woodland like plants. Formerly, the yard was just grass and 6' fence on each side to mark the boundary with the neighbor.

I want to plant beds along the fences to better integrate the yard with the greenbelt, to hide the privacy fence and in a few selected areas, to get a bit more height then the 6' privacy fence. (We are adding a hottub and lounging area so there are a couple of targeted spots where I need more height for privacy) My concept was to plant a mixed, informal hedge as background - primarily made up of evergreen broadleaf shrubs and small trees (might be deciduous too) with some evergreen conifers. The height range should be 6'+, but no monsters. The next layer (not a straight row, more informal placement) is primarily flowering shrubs such as hydrangeas, mock orange, spirea, hardy fuschias etc. Some spots are fuller sun then others, so the planting is largely determined by the infividual spot. The layer closest to the yard will be some lower growing perrennials.