SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
corunum

Pining Over Pines

corunum z6 CT
16 years ago

Pining Over Pines

Hello, Im new to Gardenweb, but "old" to broken pines. Mother Nature had a spin at our 53 yr. old Eastern whites and now we have no border against the street. Regretfully, they will be felled soon as we (who are older than the pines) have chosen to stop worrying about our power lines being severed from the house and the house being whip lashed or punctured by reeling branches. The most recent branch to fall was about 30Â long, 15" diameter at its collar, and closed traffic for 3 hours. No one was hurt, thank goodness. So, with an eye toward spring, I am wondering if anyone has had the same border problem: what to plant in acidic soil - and the line of planting is directly on a deer trail. These 5 mature pines are 15 ft. away from the house, about 9 ft. in from a road. Stumps will be ground, but planting new stock will be a challenge to say the least. Thinking about American boxwood and azaleas. Any ideas offered will be appreciated.

Kindly,

Jane

Comments (44)

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello Jane..nice to see a new poster. :-)
    So are you still in the midst of getting the trees out? You mean you had 5 mature trees and the weather effected all five? Can you tell us, how much sun will this new planting area receive? Are you trying to screen the street from the house?

pm2

• corunum z6 CT
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi PM2,