SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
disinmtl

Hydro Tomato - Leaf Curl, Roll, Drooping

disinmtl
15 years ago

Hi,

This forum seemed more appropriate for my post since I believe the source of my problem stems from my hydroponics setup, however, all opinions are greatly appreciated. Also, I am a rookie grower (lettuce, tomatoes, and hydroponics).

Here is some info regarding my setup:

Light Source: HPS 1000w (started on 18/6, now on 12/12 for flowering purposes - query: is that necessary since they flowered during 18/6, but some poster said they won't set fruit without a 12/12 cycle).

Room Temp: Day: 70F Night: 60F

Room RH: 50-60%

Water Temp: Approx 65F

Water pH: between 6-6.5, note early on I think it was closer to 7 often.

Exhaust and Fan: Box fan blows softly on plants for stem strength and to pollinate (necessary?). Standard bathroom exhaust vent fan that shares the dryer exhaust.

Medium: Ughhhh, I want to do all organic vegetables and did not want to pay for coconut coir, so I went perlite and vermiculite with cocotex planters. I used, as recommended by the guy at the store, a 50/50 mix. I think this was a mistake, the vermiculite holds water forever and clogs everything. The perlite also likes to break down and develop properties similar to the vermiculite.

Setup: