SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jimster_gw

Freeze Radichhio?

jimster
15 years ago

Can radichhio successfully be frozen for later use in cooked dishes such as grilled radichhio?

I have a dozen LARGE radichhios (radichhii?) in my garden which are getting larger every day and will soon present me with an embarrassment of riches. The plants are beautiful and there is no way I can consume them in a short period of time. If they can be frozen, that would allow me to get full enjoyment from them. I realize that, after being frozen, they would be unattractive as salad greens and there is no way I could use that quantity of salad greens anyway, but maybe they would be fine for cooked preparations.

I have little experience with radichhio, as I suspect is the case with most members of this forum. Experience based info, ideas based on experience freezing other green vegetables, or recipes are welcome.

Jim

Comments (2)

• denninmi
    15 years ago

Italian cooks often used escarole and various chicories as cooked greens in recipes. I've seen Lydia Bastianich make an escarole and lemon soup, with a chicken stock base and rice, which sounded pretty good -- it might be on her website, do a google search for 'Lydia's Italy'. Mary Anne Esposito did an escarole and cheese filling for ravioli on 'Ciao Italia' -- try googling that as well, or go to one of the cooking sites like recipezaar.com and see what pops up.