SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
katiediddesign

Salsa and Tomato sauce questions

katiediddesign
15 years ago

I have a number of questions...

I have read HUNDREDS of posts on salsa here, and came to the realization that my home-made salsa recipe can not be canned. (I'm new at this.)

1) But here's my first question. I did not realize this until after I had canned it, let it cool, and sit overnight. They have since been boiled once more and are now in the fridge. (I made it four days ago.) Is it still safe to eat/freeze, or should I toss all 9 pints?

2) I've seen how-to's saying you can can crushed tomatoes/ tomato sauce (nothing added) without acid, and that's what I did... but now I see that most people consider that risky. Sooo... I'm wondering what you all think? Some of my jars were done about a week ago, and some about two and a half weeks ago. Should I re-open them, boil them again, add the 1/2 tsp. citric acid, and re-process with new lids?

3) What are the pros and cons of BWB vs. pressure canning crushed tomatoes/tomato sauce? I'd rather keep the acid as low as possible... plus my pressure canner says it's not really big enough to BWB quarts in it, which is the size I want to do. (I can still put almost an inch of water over the top of the jars, though, so I don't know why it says that).

4) Finally, I want to try Annie's recipe. Can I:

- leave out cumin?

- use minced garlic from a jar?

- use 1/3 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/3 cup of vinegar?

- use one of my own jars of crushed tomatoes for the tomato sauce her recipe lists?

- Can some in quarts instead of pints? (If so, how long?)

Comments (15)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

I'll try a few of your questions and I'm sure others will chime in. ;)

(I made it four days ago.) Is it still safe to eat/freeze, or should I toss all 9 pints?