SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ahelaumakani_gw

Newbie discouraged by Hallson's HVX forum

ahelaumakani
13 years ago

I've been lurking for about a year and this is my second season growing hostas. I have a tiny apartment patio with a total of about 20 square feet of planting space on 2 sides. Last year I bought potted Halcyon, Bright Lights, and Warwick Essence at Lowes and was thrilled when they came back! Encouraged, I bought some bagged Minuteman, Twilight, and Gold Standard.

Then I read the posts and find out that 1. one should never buy bagged hostas. 2. All my bagged ones are on 'The List' and 3. Halcyon is also a type that's likely to be infected (it's my biggest plant too).

Since I'm just starting out, I'm just buying common things and can't justify paying a lot for them. I'm wondering though if they're all inevitably going to be infected. It's not like I have other places to plant hostas until the soil is safe to plant in again.

What should I do?

Here is a link that might be useful: Chris's 2009 list of hostas and sources to still avoid

Comments (17)

• Steve Massachusetts
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

One of the reasons not to by from big box stores is because they may have virus. Another is that you don't necessarily get the plant that is labeled. Don't despair, just pot up the hostas that are from the BB stores and keep them out of your garden soil. I would keep them for 3 years in pots before planting them out. If they show signs of infection, throw the whole deal out, plant, pot and soil. If you get one plant infected, then you should probably throw the whole mess out and start again from scratch. But your plants may be fine. I bought a Francis Williams from Home Depot last year and I tested it. It tested fine.