SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
teka2rjleffel

Damage report, who lost what in the cold and wind?

teka2rjleffel
16 years ago

I was nervous about my Bismark palms, I watered the fronds well just before the sun came up (an old trick from the north) and they seem to be OK. My duranta that Kristi gave me looks bad. My firebush looks bad and several of my coleus are damaged. Does anyone know if the duranta will revive? It looks more like wind than cold damage?

Comments (30)

• manature
    16 years ago

Hey, Nancy! Don't know about the durantas, as this is my first year growing any, and mine (the little golden ones) look okay so far. But firebush freezes fairly easily. However, it mostly always comes back from the ground again, sometimes faster and fuller than before. One of mine looks pretty bad, and one looks pretty good. I'm waiting to see what happens in a few more days.

My porterweeds, pea vines, false roselle, and ALL my uncovered coleus look pretty bad. Oh, and my blue sky vine is black as soot! But I believe it will come back from the roots, too.

Marcia

• coffeemom
    16 years ago

Floradata says if the duranta dies back after a freeze, it will grow back from the roots. I think it will be ok.

I only have spiral gingers that look bad/burnt and butterfly gingers that went yellow overnite. The apelhandra sinclairiana(sp) looks like crap....but then it never looks good.

In moving stuff in I discovered an orchid with a bud and my Amazon lily about to bloom. What a crazy time in the garden.

• Related Discussions

Wind damaged Live Oak tree

Q

Comments (10)