SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
carsons_mimi

Transplant shock or have I messed up?

carsons_mimi
13 years ago

Hello everyone!

I've been reading quite a bit on the citrus forum lately due to a recent acquisition of a few citrus trees. I've never tried to grow them before and unfortunately, do not live in a zone where they can overwinter outside. I'm sure that will bring on a learning curve in itself.

I recently purchased two Improved Meyer Lemons, a Lisbon Lemon, an Armstrong Sumatra and a Thornless Key Lime. They will be container plants due to our winters here (central OK, zone 7a). I plan to use Al's Gritty Mix with the Turface, Gran-i-Grit and Pine Bark Fines. I've been screening for what seems like forever in order to have enough for the five planters.

I've noticed that several forum members indicate spring is the best time to repot. After much internal debate and not knowing what type of soil they were growing in and if they would make it til spring in this medium, I elected to go ahead a repot while our temps were moderate (highs in the 70's-80's; lows in the 50's-60's).