SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
abbie_road

tilling vs. 'lasagna' beds; composting help; new to area - HELP!

abbie-road
17 years ago

i'm fairly new to gardening, and i'm new to these forums. i'm looking for help with tilling vs. "lasagna" beds, composting, and miscellaneous SC gardening. i was trying to answer my questions by simply reading others' posts, but since everyone seems so nice and helpful, i thought i'd post my questions.

i live in one of those new neighborhoods where they clear out everything and put back in cookie-cutter landscaping. i hate it. i just moved here from south florida (where i rented but had a nice balcony garden), and i want color and unique interesting landscaping. not just like my neighbors (no offense to them of course!).

[sorry for back story; now for questions.]

(1) i think i've read enough to know i should do the "lasagna" method instead of tilling. (but opinions here are very welcome.) can i do the "lasagna" method around my existing (cookie-cutter) shrubs, or do i have to rip them up? there are 4 hollies in my front bed and a few small evergreen shrubs i haven't identified. the ground was never tilled, and no topsoil was ever put down - just pine straw, which i ripped out weeks ago on a whim. (but i regret that now that i'm learning about composting, etc. which leads to my next question.)

(2) the lasagna method requires compost. i don't have any. is this something i can make quickly or buy? or can i use bags that say they contain compost? also, my husband thinks it will smell too bad. but if i get a compost container, won't that help with the smell?! i thought it would just smell like dirt anyhow, and i don't think that's too bad. so, does it smell???!