SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

Sunny strip for natives

jenn
15 years ago

We have a sunny strip between our driveway and our neighbors' yard that we would like to redo with natives. It faces south and gets sun all day. Currently, it consists of grass which we've allowed to go brown and a dwarf Magnolia tree at the top. We plan to remove the Magnolia because its roots are beginning to erode the short retaining wall on the neighbors' side.

The area measures 10' wide x 27' long, with a small 5'x8' rectangle at the top behind the tree. Our soil is clay.

Our current plan is to replace the Magnolia with a small native tree or large shrub for some height at the corner of the house (erased from photo by gray area on left), then fill the remaining area with natives down to the sidewalk (the beige area at the bottom of the photo).

I am relatively new to natives and would like to start using them, beginning with a complete make-over of this strip. Natives I've admired include Ceanothus (love blue flowers) and Salvias.

I'm looking for any and all ideas. Our house is Spanish style (tract home) with a tile roof.

Here's a photo I took today:

{{gwi:545981}}

Comments (16)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Jenn, I have a very similar thing I want to do.
    Mine faces SE and is along the walkway to my front door.
    I am thinking ceanothus-concha, rhus ovata-sugar bush or rhus integrifolia lemonade berry. But I think it is too hot here for the second 2. But I would like more year round color not just spring, so I gonna watch this thread.

Get the book: California native plants for the garden by Carol Bornstein, David Fross and Bart O'Brien. Numerous pictures grown in real landscapes.

• dicot
    15 years ago

I have a similar yard and if there's anything I've learned, don't skimp on the inital preparation. That clay hardpan can be tough even on natives. My suggestion would be to target planting native perennials in October.