SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nvsravank

Newbie trying to understand types of roses

nvsravank
14 years ago

I have a small plot of 10 ft by 10 ft of garden in front of my house where i want to plant a few roses.

since the space is at a premium and i am new to roses, i want to pick a couple of roses which are hardy and wont die on me!

At the same time i want a rose that has the florist shop rose shape(wife's choice), with a great smell and flowers abundantly throughout the season(my choices). Should i look at floribundas or hybrid teas?

I would prefer to cut a few for inside the house also, but the main things are rebloom and smell.

What are the sugesstions, or what sites to go to do more research? I got to J&P and vintage roses and got throughly confused! Any help is appreciated by a completly overwhelmed newbie.

Comments (24)

• greenhaven
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'll tell you right now that 10x10 will not be enough, once you get going, to contain your soon-to-be affair with roses! ;o)

The first thing you must know is that HelpMeFind (link below) is going to be your number one resource, after actual people in your actual area. You can search by plant name, class, color, habit, etc. there are thousands of roses out there. Knowing you (or your wife) wants hybrid tea types helps! You have already done the next best thing, and that is to come here and do some research BEFORE jumping in without looking. There are tons of smart folks here, in addition to the relative newbies like me.

Hardiness may be a factor for you, still, even in zone 6. Can you share your location without being specific?