SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jeffwul

Which variety of Crepe Myrtle do i have?

jeffwul
12 years ago

I was told dynamite, but it sure doesn't look like it, but I'm new to gardening. Thanks!

{{gwi:391698}}

{{gwi:391699}}

{{gwi:391700}}

Comments (20)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    12 years ago

It's impossible to say what cultivar you have with just that picture, but the bloom color doesn't look nearly as red as 'Dynamite' typically appears. Sun exposure, soil conditions, and other factors can affect a crape myrtle's bloom color though. The form also doesn't look all that dynamite (attempt at funny pun). Has someone been limbing it up or something?

• j0nd03
    12 years ago

Definitely NOT dynamite. Otherwise, google "pink crepe myrtle" and a few dozen should pop up. Pink Velour would be an "off the top of my head" guess.

• Related Discussions

HAVE: Crepe myrtle seedlings

Q

Comments (1)
    Seedlings have been claimed.
    ...See More

Have daylilies, baby crepe myrtles, liriope

Q

Comments (0)
    I spent all day Saturday weeding what was left of my gardens. I have a ton of Stella de Oro, some Little Business and some Strawberry Candy daylilies. I know which ones are the Strawberry Candy, but since the daylilies have stopped blooming, I cannot tell which ones are Stella and which ones are Little Business. Most of the daylilies are Stella though. I also have some baby Crepe Myrtles that grew from seed from a pink blooming mommy. I have a lot of varigated and standard green liriope that need to be divided also. I am looking for lantana, dahlias, salvias (especially May Night), lilies (asiatic and oriental). Check my trade list for other wants also. Thanks!
    ...See More

Crepe Myrtle-Do I have to prune?

Q

Comments (7)