SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
reneek_gw

Suggestions on the best place to buy antique roses?

reneek
16 years ago

Hi,

I am just beginning to have a real interest in roses. I am slowly learning new things about them. Currently, I have no-name roses from Jackson Perkins that I bought for 75% off at Lowes....if that's any indication of my level of expertise. lol

I was watching the Gardener's Diary on HGTV and became acquainted with David Austin Roses....particularly Barron Prevost and another yellow climber whose name escapes me. I really want to learn how to become well versed in the care of roses....I don't expect to reach the status of a rosarian....I just want to learn as much as I can and I will continue to read all of the posts here.

Now....on to my question.....would someone direct me to a reliable nursery that sell these types of roses? I desire to have a close approximation of an English Cottage garden and I have the perfect spot that is in full sun all day long. I would prefer to make use of my new tiller and create a bed specifically for four or more of these beauties. I would appreciate suggestions on which roses would go well with the Barron Prevost in the same bed.

TIA!

Renee

Comments (61)

• reneek
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Wow....thanks everyone for the websites, book and cultivar recommendations! I really, truly appreciate it.

Lisa,
    Great question! I have no idea about the colors that I desire. I think once I look at the roses you recommended, I will just KNOW what I want if that makes sense? lol But my first thought is red, yellow, pink and maroon to start. I will google all of the names this weekend and start my indepth research to get a better handle on things. Thanks so much!

Madame,
    You sound just like me, a plantaholic! I've heard of Ashdown....will definitely check it out. What other type of plants do you have in your cottage garden. If I have my way, there will be very little lawn left when I'm through! hehehe