SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pianofury

Questions about urine in compost

PianoFury
11 years ago

I have never used urine in compost before, but I need a Nitrogen source. I read that human urine is NPK around 18-2-5 which sounds like rocket fuel for composting (super concentrated green matter). I tried to search the archives, but spent hours reading all kinds of conversation that didn't give me answers, and there was something like 16 pages of threads on the topic in my search.

My questions are: How much (approx) human urine would you add to a cubic yard of oak leaves to get it hot? With the addition of human urine, how long would it take to make compost from mostly raked oak leaves? (I don't have a lawn, don't own a mower, need lots of compost first). I saw conversation that some people age the urine before using it (not sure if using for compost Nitrogen or as fertilizer?), but I couldn't find out WHY, or what effect that would have on the compost.

I apologize for asking, I'm sure that the answers are here somewhere. I just can't spend any more time looking for them, I have tons of work to do in the garden.

Comments (46)

• Laurel Zito
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am not sure you could make compost from just leaves. That would be leaf mold, that is a good thing. Why not add other things like kitchen scraps? It is not like a super thing that makes compost great. If it was I would use it, but it's not.

• ceth_k
    11 years ago

I would say maybe around 3L of urine is enough. But before you try this you should make sure the urine do not come from someone taking certain medicines such as hypertension drug or anything as those chemical might go through the body and being discharged as urine.

• Related Discussions

Question about 'blender' composting

Q

Comments (70)