SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
plaidthumb

Harbor freight tools

plaidthumb
18 years ago

I've noticed a number of references on this forum about buying tools at Harbor Freight. Is their stuff any good?

What I've seen when I've been there is what they used to sell off the back of semi trailers for a "truckload sale--this weekend only!!!!!" and you'll never see them again. Some of their prices look "too good" and I wonder what it is I'm really buying. They had a recipricating saw advertised a couple of weeks ago for a great price--it had a plastic housing. Like J.A.Pan makes toys out of.

Has anyone had any luck with their tools?

Comments (21)

• triptester
    18 years ago

Harbor freight tools are allright for occasional use and light duty. If you plan on using a tool daily buy name brands. I have a portable bandsaw from them I have been using it for 5 years on an occasional basis and it is still working fine, it cost me $200 less than the name brands.Their hand grinders are almost worthless but their cut-off discs are great. Generally the quality is low but for limited use the price could be right.

• hydroharold
    18 years ago

A guy with a trailer load was here last summer... Same stuff in my book.

When did "Harbor Freight Salvage" drop the "salvage" part? I guess it did sound a bit funky like they salvaged the stuff from the harbor bottom.

• Related Discussions

making plant tags-lables

Q

Comments (8)
    I use dymo, the really old one that embosses (sp.) letters on plastic tape, this has one sticky side. Then stick it on either wood stake-popsickle-metal stake-piece of blind-or hang it (after adhering to a piece cut off coke/pop can), depends what I am marking. (I have the gizmo from way back when we used it to make labels for storage in banker's boxes). One can buy dymo embosser that works on metal I think, but it is more $$$. Rina
    ...See More

Rain Barrel Parts, Instruction (video)

Q

Comments (1)