SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aimeekitty

I should be patient and not buy more roses, right?

aimeekitty
14 years ago

I keep looking at all the gorgeous photos in the Antique Rose Gallery and falling in love with roses from people's photos. Which isn't really a bad thing. Because that's how I chose most of the roses I have in my (new) garden right now... based on ya'lls recommendations and ya'lls gorgeous photos. Some of them I wouldn't even have really considered or heard of if I hadn't seen them here.

But... I probably kinda-sorta have enough roses for right now and I should probably wait and see how they do and wait till at least next year to see if there's a spot to fill.

RIGHT? :)

Comments (58)

• aimeekitty
    Original Author
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

but if I wait... I'm missing a year of growth that those roses could have had! This is my rationale.

but I'm a newbie, so I really should probably wait. And I did pretty much put them in at the space apart they should be. (ie, other than the bare spot on the other side, I really don't have that much space for more.) Also, I may change my mind after seeing the roses grow up a bit as to which are my favorites and what I want more of, etc... so I really really should wait. :D

(but... I really like big piles of roses growing into each other... sooo...)

Honestly, I'll probably wait (or cave and get like ONE.) but it's fun to talk about I guess. :)

• elemire
    14 years ago

My problem usually is that I do not have patience. I know that it takes 3+ years to see the real potential of the rose, that's why I want to plant them all asap (or last year if the time travel was possible). x) Internet does not make the addiction easier, though I was pretty good in buying rare plants in pre-internet era as well. x)

Oh well, could be worse, I could have enough money/space to collect cats. x)

• Related Discussions

anything I should know before buying an arbor for roses?

Q

Comments (11)