SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
veggieman4

'If I could do it all over again, I would definitely ....'

veggieman4
17 years ago

Hi everyone - Im new to gardening and farming (as far as legitimate hands on practice is concerned, at least) and I am about a week away from starting as a volunteer on an organic farm for the first time ( for a period of a month or so).

I just wanted to see if I could get any (invaluable) advice from you more experienced gardeners/ farmers out there, as far as what you would suggest to any green thumb beginner such as myself ( a kind of "if I could do it all over again, I would have done this first/ avoided that/ made sure to doÂ.." type thing)

The farm is located in south west Ontario, and grows a lot of fruits, vegetables and herbs (Currants, Gooseberries, Grapes, Muskmelon, Raspberries, Rhubarb, Watermelon, Artichokes, Asparagus, Beans, Beets, Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, Cabbage, Carrots, Cauliflower, Celery, Eggplant, Escarole, Fiddleheads, Garlic, Leeks, Lettuce, Okra, Onions, Parsnips, Peas, Peppers, Potatoes, Pumpkin, Radishes, Rutabaga, Spinach, Squash, Sweet Potato, Tomatoes, Turnip, Zucchini etc etc)

I am actually quite interested in the permaculturist philosophy and practice of Japanese farmer ; Masanobu Fukuoka (The One Straw Revolution, etc), but I know that this kind of extreme is not really a feasible route to jump into at this stage in my learning process (not to mention the fact that the farm I will be going to is not set up for such an unconventional approach to farming.)

So I was hoping some of you could suggest what you personally believe to be the most fundamental/ critical/ "canÂt go without" - steps to follow, according to your own experiences?