SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
calliope_gw

Speaking of Pies........

calliope
16 years ago

Well, we weren't. But let's.

I have a raisin pie in the oven. It's been many years since I've baked one of those and I don't know why. I'd rather have mincemeat, but I'm the only one in the family anymore who likes them. So, raisin is about as close as I can come, unless I want to eat a whole pie.

I almost made a pineapple pie. It's one of my favs, but whenever I have baked one for company or extended family, their eyebrows always shoot up. It just got me to wondering if this is something not so mainstream, or perhaps regional to somewhere? I know it's an old fashioned pie, as I was going through a 1912 magazine a couple nights ago and it was mentioned in one of the articles. It was one my mother made frequently and I love the combination of the tart pineapple, the sweetness of the sugar and the flaky crust.

As for pies, I am a pie cook, as was my mother. It takes me a matter of minutes to roll out a couple of crusts and I don't understand why some people find that intimidating. It's also a common vehicle for serving up left-over stews and meats, as well as a desert staple. I cannot, however, make a decent cake and never could and if Betty Crocker didn't exist, there'd never be one made in my kitchen, short of those heavy pan cakes.

I see so many frozen pies, pie shells, and mixes in the market I'm curious to know if that is the typical way to get a pie into one's home anymore. Do you make pies? What kind? Often? Or are there really two camps....pie bakers/cake bakers just like cat people/dog people?

Comments (53)

• lindac
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Yep....pies are us!
    And does a quiche count? I find that if you make a crust, fill it full of stuff....grated cheese, cooked veggies, leftover cooked meat and dump on some eggs and milk or cream beaten together and bake it....you have a meal.