SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mobileduck

Lawn chaos in San Francisco

mobileduck
11 years ago

Recently moved into a new house on the western edge of San Francisco (Outer Parkside neighborhood) . . . we're 11 blocks from the beach and about 1.5 miles across Lake Merced (as the crow flies) from The Olympic Club.

We've a 375 sq foot lawn that has some issues. There was a pretty heavy gopher infestation which we've dealt with (my wife learned how to trap and bagged five of them - no issues since) but this left a good deal of peaks and valleys in the lawn.

We reseeded in the beginning of July, but after reading this forum I'm now of the belief that was one of several mistakes we've made. There are a lot of bare patches, a lot of crab grass and fox tail, and what seems to be several types of grass growing (though I'm not too good at telling them apart - I can spot fescue, not sure about the rest.)

When we reseeded we used a water saver RTF blend that was recommended by a well regarded local gardening shop (Sloat Garden Center.) When it first came in, it came in beautifully, though it clumped very thickly in some places and came in very thin or not at all in others. However, many of the spots where it came in, it soon turned brown and died off altogether. Other spots are doing great.

I've had a couple people theorize that it's the work of lawn grubs, and that I should let loose some nematodes. But before I go any further, I wanted to see if I could get some opinions of the board here.

The soil is pretty sandy. The first couple three inches is good, has good worm levels, is black, etc. But you get below there and it's mostly sand. (This whole part of SF was built on sand dunes.) And in a lot of spots where the gophers really went to town, they brought a lot of sand to the surface. So when we reseeded, we laid down about 12 cu feet of forest mulch. I also used a hand aerating tool to aerate before I pitched the seeds.