SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aliceinvirginia

Al's mix vs .... comparison - what veggies to test.

aliceinvirginia
15 years ago

I've been having varying results with Al's potting mix.

Seeds germinated quickly, but didn't seem to grow much - maybe I should have fertilized heavily.

Lemongrass plant grew quite well, but was difficult to pot up. The roots were wrapped around the bottom of the pot, but no roots at all appeared near the top. The soil ball collapsed as soon as I took it out. Granted, I'm not that experienced with repotting. The two other lemongrass plants I had were older but have not been repotted yet. They do not have roots sticking out the bottom.

So I'm going to compare 3 mixes. I have a 2-3 gallon self watering container (made out of 4 gallon bucket) and a 2-3 gallon traditional draining container (partly sawed off 5 gallon container) for each.

Later on for the summer crop, if I ever get seedlings to germinate, I want to do 3 dwarf tomatoes - either Red Robin or Tiny Tim in the SWC. Then 3 mini bell peppers in the normal draining containers.

But I'm still wondering about the spring and fall veggies.

Originally I was thinking of doing the SWC with radishes, carrots, and sugar snap peas, but I think it is getting late in the season for peas, and carrots are supposed to be hard to grow.

The traditional containers were going to be half leaf lettuce and half spinach. They are about 10" wide and 8" tall. Don't know if it is getting late for spinach, either.

Depending which source you use, last freeze date is anywhere from now (Virginia extension) to mid May (nursery). The history from a nearby small airport says that there hasn't been a May freeze in the last 12 years and April usually gets down to ~30 F at the lowest temperature all month.

Anyways, more suggestions for common container veggies to try?

Here's the mixes I'm trying - each of these was mixed to ~5 gallons.