SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
evelynsmom

Ikea kitchen wall cabinet help for challenging corner

evelynsmom
last year
last modified: last year

Hi everyone,

I had worked with a kitchen planner to help me plan my Ikea kitchen (I'm not good at 3-dimensional thinking and didn't trust myself to do this right). He took measurements when the kitchen was down to studs and estimated the extra distances for drywall and window/door trim and created a plan that worked for me. Silly me, I forgot that the measurements may have changed now that drywall is in and trim has been done. So I walked into Ikea yesterday ready to place my order. Fortunately, the staffer said I'd better measure again. Yep, good idea. I think most of my plan still works, but I no longer have the space to fit 36" wall cabinets into the corner. (See yellow highlighted area in first pic of the north wall.)

So he had planned something a bit complicated with a 36"w x 20"h cabinet stacked on top of a 36"w x 30"h cabinet. All accessed with a single 18"w x 50"h door. Based on the original plan and measurements I provided, the installers had no concerns about doing the necessary custom work to make this successful. (Although I never really understood how it worked, as the orientation of the 2 wall cabinets looked strange to me, but then I'm no good at 3D visualizing. Since it was clear to both of them, I figured it would come out okay.)

I'm also including a pic of the east wall plan, for reference. And a pic of what's going in to the left of the stove on the east wall.

Not shown, but just so you know, there's also a 66" kitchen island (with 3 base cabs of drawers) and on the south wall, 2 high pantries for additional storage. (All that is still fine.) The original planner is no longer available to answer questions.