SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

Anyone else with seedlings/new plantings that just are doing anythimg?

Such a strange season, IMO. On one hand, I feel like almost everything, since very early spring, has been unusually beautiful this year. I've used the word "spectacular" to describe so many things, it seems. I don't know if it's because it's been a long tough year for all of us and it was so wonderful to see everything in bloom in its succession, or if things were actually really spectacular!

On the other hand, some things just won't get going. Namely, I guess, my seed-sown stuff and newer plantings. I've been wintersowing for almost 20 years and this year, while I had iffy germination (mostly due to using VERY old seed), the stuff that did germinate isn't doing much. I still have stuff in their containers because they are too small to plant out. I've planted out my veggies, but my tomatoes are still three to four inches tall, my peppers the same, my cabbages perhaps smaller, and finally my lettuce is starting to do something - it's all of four inches! Woo-hoo! Cukes and squash are doing a bit better but are still smaller than usual.

Look at my poor petunias lol. This photo (taken today) looks more like my usual seedlings in April than in the last week of June!

I've watered, fertilized with a seedling starter fert, and pay daily attention to these seedlings, and they're just not taking off. I have planted some things, because after all it's almost July, but my cosmos, zinnias, dianthus, annual phlox, poppies, salvia, cleome, (just off the top of my head, all planted out) are still kind of just sitting there not doing much at all.