SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hutchae84

Cecile Brunner climber

This rose was a hand me down from a neighbor's garden and I am somewhat new to roses. I had a couple of questions as there is some conflicting information online...

For those of you who have this rose or know of it well, is it a repeat bloomer and one time bloomer?

Also, the rose came with small wooden teepee for it support the canes, it was kept in by the old owner. I'm having a hard time removing it, it is okay to leave it in as a positioners or would it be best to take it out to stretch out the canes? The teepee is about 4 ft tall. Some of the canes are already about 12ft long.

Lastly, what is your opinion on this rose? I have it growing on the fence and it will grow up a 30ft long perogola along my patio. Since it's such a prominent spot I would like something I love vs just being okay and it underperformed in flowering this summer (but was first year in my yard).

Maybe one more question, any suggestions on a companion plant for the pergola? it doesn't have to be another rose but I considered Eden, as well as the early clematis bloomer Montana or Star jasmine (to add some year round privacy)

Comments (58)

• 3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

So true, Jeri. It's a shame that some of the best roses out there, like Mel's Heritage and Annie Laurie McDowell will forever be "boutique" roses known only to aficionados...just because they never had a big commercial push by one of the huge rose houses. Those two roses are better than 90% of the climbers introduced "commercially" in the last 10 years.

• 3 years ago

Jeri-Thanks for the post, I actually fell through the Houzz rabbit hole and stumbled upon your original post on Mel's Heritage, it is absolutely stunning. If only scent could travel through the internet! I was actually also curious what the white climber you have combined with Mel's Heritage on the arbor? I don't think it's pictured above but I saw it on your thread.