SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
synchronicity1111

Screwed Up And Ordered The Wrong Soil For My Potted Roses-Any Advice?

Sorry So Long....

I am not an expert gardener, but have been growing roses for the past 3 years. I have grown a mixture of roses in the ground and roses in pots before which almost all did well and are healthy. I just ordered 5 bare root roses from Jackson & Perkins and am waiting for them to arrive. I want to put them in 15 gallon pots because I have no more room to plant roses in the ground. I absolutely hate the potting soils sold in big box stores because most of it is absolute garbage, especially Miracle Grow, Kelloggs and other brands being sold in big box stores. Where I live, none of the nurseries had any higher quality brand soils in stock and most said they didn't know when they were getting in their new shipments. Since my bare root roses are coming in a few days, I had to be prepared to plant them asap.

I went on Amazon.com, but most of the better soils such as Black Gold and Dr. Earths were being sold by third party sellers for as much as $43 a bag and other websites selling garden supplies had great prices, but shipping was through the roof!! I went on the Ace Hardware Website and found Dr. Earth's soil for a decent price with some of them having free ship to store. The one particular potting mix formula soil I wanted, could not be shipped to store in my area and shipping to my home would have been over $80!