SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
idaisa1

Help! What is this and how do I get rid of it and it’s roots?

Emily C
5 years ago
Hi, I have never done any gardening before but we just moved to a house in Mullica Township / Pine Barrens and the flower beds need some love. I tried to weed the front this morning but this ridiculous ivy/ spreading vine/ weed has DEEP roots that spread everywhere, are extremely deep and large and have even invaded the stone wall. How do I get rid of this weed plant completely ( and hopefully easily)?

Comments (21)

• ashgreenpa7a
    5 years ago
    What sort of gardening tools do you have? A garden knife would be helpful for cutting apart the tougher roots. I'd also suggest a kneeling pad because you might be down there a while.
  • Related Discussions

HELP how do i get rid of white flies on potted plants

Q

Comments (13)
    Dyna-Gro packages cold-pressed neem oil. In a 1 quart spritzer bottle, mix: 1 pint very hot water 1 teaspoon neem oil (cold-pressed or virgin oil only - Dyna-Gro packages a very good product) 4 drops Murphy's oil soap (or dishsoap) Shake well and add 1 pint of 70% isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol. Spritz Shake frequently while spritzing. Be sure to cover the entire plant. Don't spray in full sun. A little more Murphy's is ok, but unnecessary if using the isopropyl. Repeat at 1-2 week intervals as needed. Copy paste to your browser: http://homeharvest.com/insectspraysneembased.htm Al
    ...See More

Need help: What is this weed and how do I get rid of it?

Q

Comments (3)
    It's some sort of grass. The exact type doesn't really matter. The Bermuda looks completely dormant in that picture. If so, the easiest way to kill the weeds would be to use glyphosate (brand name roundup). Glyphosate will only work on plants that are green. It's a nonselective weed killer, so it will kill anything green that it ends up on, but if the Bermuda is dormant, it won't take the glyphosate in and kill it.
    ...See More