SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_270556395

Rubber Plant Woes :(

V K
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi All,

Our ficus elastica has been shedding its lower leaves since January, and now the yellowing/shedding is moving up into its mid-section. It seems like all leaves are at risk!

We live in an apartment in Germany, so it's relatively chilly and there is not a lot of natural sunlight. The plant sits by a window because this is the only place it can absorb whatever sunlight there is (usually not much...!), but it may be a little bit draft-y by the window. The apartment is heated and comfortable, so we don't think it's too cold for the plant. That said, we have no idea what else may be the issue :(

I water the plant twice a month (during the winter months--Nov. thru now) (about 1 liter/34 oz tap water left to sit for a day or more due to calk concentrations in Berlin's tap water) (is this enough water??). The plant sits in a pot with holes/drainage...

I'm a novice indoor gardener and don't know what to do... When the plant first started shedding (in December), I looked up reasons for shedding and tried the following to halt it:

-increased watering (from twice/month to once a week)

-decreased watering (let it go for three weeks without water)

-fertilizing (since it is still winter here, instead of giving it a full dose, we gave it a half dose of fertilizer)

-moving it to a sunnier spot (its lower leaves were drooping-->we read this might be due to a lack of sunlight)

None of this seemed to help.

I also had a "mealybug scare"--thinking the plant had bugs, I disinfected it using rubbing alcohol and water mixture. I followed instructions on how to safely disinfect pretty closely, so I don't think this affected it adversely... It started shedding more rapidly about a month after the "mealybug scare."