SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
emho23

Please critique our kitchen design!

emho23
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here but I have been reading a ton and it has been so helpful so far. My husband and I recently purchased a 1914 bungalow in an estate sale and are updating the kitchen, which is currently down to the studs. I am writing to ask for advice/feedback about our proposed kitchen design from our kitchen designer.

We have a number of limitations since this is an old house and we don't want to do anything to the exterior. The exterior door (bottom right) and windows cannot be moved. There is no other logical place to put the fridge - it is located in a preexisting niche. We cannot do anything about the dummy cabinet at the bottom left - it is covering a pre-existing door that leads from the exterior to the basement below (old house weirdness); that door is the only basement egress and we don't want to get rid of it or get involved in foundation work. The ceiling is 84" in the area towards the bottom (there is a beam running across, starting from the bottom edge of the fridge niche), ~8'4" in the rest of the room. The house does not have gas and we are not planning a conversion at this stage; the range will be induction. The appliance dimensions in this plan are based on the appliances we already picked out (but have not taken delivery of). This plan is for Schrock semi-custom cabinets.

The door between kitchen and dining room (top center) is actually slightly further to the left than this preliminary plan shows, so the "L" at the top right is larger and there is space for one more cabinet between that door and the corner at the top right.