SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
begonia2015

Small leaves, short stems, too tight - for years now!

begonia2015
5 years ago

I have been growing African Violets for about 7 years now.

My long term experience revealed that in my conditions, pretty much ALL of my violets tend to become smaller / more stunted compared to how they were when I bought them at the store.

Stems grow short, leaves turn smaller and many plants eventually get too small, tight and no bloom - and I end up throwing them away.

What am I doing wrong?

No, it is not mites or other critters - I examined closely. It seems to be a culture issue.

See below.

In the pic below, the AV to the left was as large as the one to the right when I bought it. The blooming one was recently purchased.

Over time, leaves always get smaller and stems shorter. Blooms become less prolific than what the plant had at the start...

I sometimes wonder how do nurseries grow those elephant-size leaves?...

I am thinking there must be one or both of these two issues:

1. Too much direct sunlight?

2. Too much fertilizer?

1. Light.

I have my AV-s in an East facing window. Unfortunately, they do get some direct eastern sunlight in mid morning, but only a couple of hours or so. After that it's just right - bright, but not direct light.

I am in the South (Atlanta area) so perhaps even a few hours of direct southern morning sunlight, especially in the summer, may be too much for them.

I don't have any other good area to keep them. I only grow a few for decorative purposes.

2.Fertilizer.

I have been using Dyna-Grow 7-9-5 alternating with Optimara. I am using these because they have no no urea and I heard they are excellent for AV-s.

As I use a quart pitcher to water (I have few plants) - I think I may not have always stuck to the exact recommended dose of 1/4 tsp per gallon, which means 1/16 teaspon for my quart container.