SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
doc_k55

Blue Star 36" Platinum Review; Thermador Masterpiece review

doc_k55
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

I've been using my Blue Star 36" Platinum for about a year, and as a public service I figured I would come back with a review. First, I love it! I also have a Thermador Masterpiece 30" wall oven (ME301JS)

A little bit about me so you know how to interpret my review: I'm a pretty serious cook. We are kosher and I have a child with celiac, so my equipment REALLY gets used to cook a wide variety of fairly exotic food. Plus, when I cook for family or friends, I'm usually cooking for 15 - 40 people. My favorite magazine is Cook's Illustrated and I am sad my kids are not experimental enough for me to cook more from the Gourmet cookbook. I do supplement with my slow cooker occasionally and my Instant Pot occasionally.

So, with that said:

- Blue Star heat can't be beat. I had a 48" range before but I don't miss the extra burners. With the power of the burners, things simply heat up and cook faster, so there is less of a need to run all the burners together. In fact, I've never run all my burners together.

- I am glad I only have one "powerful" burner. It's all I need. To be honest, if I really needed anything, it would be an extra simmer burner

- The simmer is definitely low enough for soup, beans, rice. I was worried about this but it has turned out to be just fine.

- I don't think that the oven handle or burner knobs get exceptionally hot when the oven is running. If the door is cracked, sure, but I'd expect that from radiant heat. They do get warm but it's nothing I can't deal with

- Cast iron is cast iron. I don't think it looks "bad" after things spill. It looks like cast iron

- Has been pretty easy to clean

- No self clean on the oven but that hasn't been a big issue for me