SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yoyobon_gw

OT....what's in a name ?

yoyobon_gw
5 years ago

DId you ever ask why you were given your particular first name ?

As a teacher I saw thousands of different names and some just flummoxed me. For instance, WHY would two parents agree to name their child Terry Terry ? This was the given first name and not a nickname ! It's almost as bad as the obit I saw recently in which the deceased , Ethel Butts , was noted as being survived by her husband Harry.

Back to the OT: My name, Yvonne, was probably taken from the Ukrainian for John which is Ivan ( sounds the same as my name) because that was my Dad's name in his parent's native tongue.

Comments (37)

• Rosefolly
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

Our parents had six children. My mother deliberately chose names she that liked, but which were not family names. It was her opinion that children should have names that were original to them, and not already associated with someone else they had to live up to. She made a couple of exceptions. My father really wanted his only son to be named Frank after his own father, and he was. Also one of my sisters has the same middle name as my mother's mother. I'm not at all sure how that one slipped in.

For what it's worth, I like my own name very much, though when I was growing up I wanted something fancier or trendier, much as I sometimes wanted to wear dresses with fluffy skirts and ruffles. I had amazingly bad taste as a child.

• annpanagain
    5 years ago

My mother chose Ann with no "e" on purpose but it has always been a problem so my daughter has the "e" tacked on to hers, which is her middle name anyway.

I joke and say that my parents were so poor that they saved money in the newspaper announcement by omitting one letter. Most people don't "get" it though! Some British ironic humour there...

• Related Discussions

OT--- What to do Without Granny

Q

Comments (50)