SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aliendog32

pine bark fines in als 5-1-1 recipe

woody
6 years ago

do they have to be composted or can they be uncomposted?

Comments (25)

• mblan13
    6 years ago

Either way, but I think the 5-1-1 calls for the PBF to be "partially composted" if memory serves.

I often use "soil conditioner" which is mostly PBF and usually has "forest products" so I sometimes skip the peat, depending on the amount of fines in the SC.

woody thanked mblan13
  • westes Zone 9b California SF Bay
    6 years ago

@woody I have never found a pine bark that was not seriously contaminated by sapwood. I have had much better luck with fir bark made for bonsai use.

• Related Discussions

Is this pine bark fine mixture OK for the 5-1-1 mix?

Q

Comments (4)
    Thanks for your nice comments - My husband just finished making my 1/8" screed/sieve and now I finally have the ability to sift just about any size material-very exciting! Good point edweather. This is my first time trying the 5-1-1 mix and I have many different plants I need to accommodate in it - Tomatoes, Peppers, Lavender, Blueberries, Fig tree, etc. I want to eventually try out the gritty mix for the fig tree and blueberries, but right now I am going to start them out in the 5-1-1 mix as I have all the necessary ingredients at hand. Any thoughts on the differences between the 5-1-1 mixtures needed for the plants listed above? I have spent a lot of time reading past posts about the 5-1-1 mix and I vaguely remember Al(tapla) saying that the fine dust should not make up more than 1/6 of the total mix. I don't remember if that was in reference to a particular plant or if that is a general rule. One more question - After I make up a batch of the 5-1-1 mix can I use it right away or do I need to let it sit a while because of the lime?
    ...See More

1) Al's 5-1-1 mix. 2) Bark sources

Q

Comments (10)