SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
classicforever

the beginning: IKEA kitchen reno. Guide me, wise ones!

ClassicForever
6 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to posting but I've read a lot of posts on Houzz and am blown away with how thoughtful and knowledgable people are. So I'm hoping to garner some wisdom from the cloud to make our upcoming kitchen reno go more smoothly. I've got quite a few questions I'm hoping you can provide help on - but first let me introduce the project and the users of the kitchen.

We are about to renovate our kitchen in our vintage-1983 home. It's our forever house and in the last 8.5 years we've done a lot of work (mostly on our own) to update and refresh it. The kitchen is in the middle of a long line of expensive projects we need to undertake, so I'll be GC'ing it myself and we'll be self-performing a lot of work.

Before I go further here is a BEFORE pic. Watch out, you are about to be timewarped to 1983. All I have to say is thank goodness that laminate counter is cream and not green or blue.

So, before I describe the scope, let me give you the scoop. We're a family of five, two working parents with kids 5, 7, and 10. Busy, yes; dinner ranges from frozen pizza to uber-healthy home-cooked options. Baking is a special occasion, and vegetable chopping is a daily priority.

OK now for the scope, then I'll get to the questions I have.

1. We'll demo the soffit and the bank o' fluoro lights. Replace with can lights and a pretty set of pendants over the island.

2. We'll replace the vinyl everywhere you see in the photo with maple hardwood (a question on that later...).

3. We'll be doing IKEA cabinets. Bodbyn, offwhite. Classicforever ;)

4. Obviously we'll be getting rid of the fence you see in the foreground. It divides the dining area from a step-down into the living room, and eventually I'd like to replace it with a custom maple bookshelf, but it wouldn't be critical to get that done with the main thrust of flooring.