SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_48619334

Struggling to accept my partner's son and past life

User
6 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this whole step mom thing and I'd like to get some advice from you on how to handle this situation.

My boyfriend and I have been together for almost a year and I've never met someone like him. He's a great man, loving, smart, and most importantly we get along so well. I'm 23 and he's 32, he has a 4 year old son from his previous relationship. He's everything that I have ever wanted in a man, except that he has a son. I was hesitated to date him in the beginning of our relationship after finding out about his past. He's not my first serious relationship, and the reason why I took the chance of dating him was because I never felt so strongly with anyone else and he loves me so much and treats me like a queen.

We recently got engaged and moved in together. As things became more serious I find myself worrying more and feeling more sad and frustrated. I'm scared that I am making the wrong choice here and walking into a lifetime commitment that is stressful. I hate the fact that he had a life before me and that he comes with a baggage. I can't help myself to feel frustrated and not resenting his past. I've met his son and we really liked each other. His ex has a full custody of his son and we have him every month or two. So far, his ex wife hasn't been causing any problems. I feel like crying and a little hurt every time he talks to his son on the phone. I know that he's just trying his best to be a great dad and be there for his little one. I don't hate his ex or his son, it just hurts me knowing that she will be in my life forever and that they have to stay in touch with each other. I'm scared that as our relationship progresses, she will cause problems in our relationship.